Essere and Avere

08/16/2017 10:36

BUONGIORNO! Today I want to speak about the verbs ESSERE=to be and AVERE=to have, which are useful both to speak about jobs, nationalities and age and to form the composed tensed of all the verbs. 

Here is the verb ESSERE=to be

IO SONO = I am

TU SEI = you are

LUI/LEI/LEI E' = he/she is/you are (courtesy form)

NOI SIAMO = we are

VOI SIETE = you are

LORO SONO = they are

Here is the verb AVERE=to have 

IO HO = I have 

TU HAI = you have

LUI/LEI/LEI HA = he/she has/you have (courtesy form)

NOI ABBIAMO = we have

VOI AVETE = you have

LORO HANNO = they have

 

Some examples with job, nationality and age: 

 

Sono un'insegnante. = I am a teacher. 

Sono italiana. = I am Italian. 

Ho 25 anni. = I am 25. 

Some examples with verbs: 

Sono andata a casa. = I went home. 

Ho scritto una lettera. = I wrote a letter. 

Ask for the complete audio file about Presentations or reserve a lesson with me! 

Next time we will speak about names, so later we can see jobs.